BJP’s Strategic Shift: Tejasvi Surya and Bommai in the Spot

Tejasvi Surya


Author: Azura Everhart

Published: March 14, 2024

In a big decision showing how the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is changing its strategies in Karnataka, nine current Members of Parliament (MPs) won’t be running as BJP candidates in the first list of 20 people for the Lok Sabha elections. This list has some surprising names, which shows that the BJP wants to bring in new people and change how it’s doing in elections in the state.

Notable Exclusions and Surprising Inclusions

Some big names are missing from the list of candidates, like Nalin Kumar Kateel, who used to lead the state unit, and Pratap Simha. These guys are well-known for speaking out in favor of Hindutva beliefs. Their names not being on the list shows a change in direction. Instead of sticking with the usual faces, the lineup is now more varied and includes people from different backgrounds.

In an interesting development, Yaduveer Krishnadatta Chamaraja Wadiyar, who comes from the royal family of Mysuru, is getting ready for his first time in the Lok Sabha representing the Mysore area. He’s taking over from Simha, which has surprised many people. This decision shows that the BJP is interested in bringing in new faces who could attract a lot of voters.

Another interesting addition to the political scene is Basavaraj Bommai, who was previously the Chief Minister. He’s now taking his first steps into national politics by running for a seat in the Parliament from Haveri. This choice shows how much faith the party has in Bommai’s leadership skills and his knack for connecting with voters, even those who might not usually support his party.

Strategic Alliances and Community Representation

The BJP’s choices for candidates show how they’re making alliances and making sure different communities are represented. For example, they’ve picked Dr. C N Manjunath, a heart doctor who is married to the daughter of H D Deve Gowda, the leader of JD(S). Dr. Manjunath will be competing against D K Suresh from the Congress party in Bangalore Rural. This decision isn’t just about family connections; it’s also a smart move to attract more supporters to the BJP.

Similarly, when Union Minister Pralhad Joshi is picked to represent Dharwad and B S Yediyurappa’s son, B Y Raghavendra, is chosen for Shimoga, it indicates the party’s commitment to upholding the legacy of influential political families. This tradition remains consistent within the party’s decision-making process.

Resilience Against Opposition and Anti-Incumbency

The choice to nominate ten current Members of Parliament (MPs) again, even though some people in the party disagreed, shows how strong the BJP is in dealing with disagreements and sticking together. Even though there were some problems, like opposition from people within the party, important figures like Union Minister Bhagwanth Khuba and experienced leader Shobha Karandlaje are still getting their tickets, showing that the party is focused on keeping things going smoothly and staying stable.

Addressing Anti-Incumbency and Demographic Factors

The BJP’s strategic realignment is all about making smart moves to address issues like people getting tired of seeing the same leaders in charge. They’re also thinking about appealing to different groups of voters. By deciding not to let nine of their current members of parliament run for re-election, they’re showing that they’re ready to shake things up and bring in new faces to attract a broader range of voters.

For example, when established politicians like Kateel and Simha are not given tickets for reelection because some party members disagree with them and worry about their age, it creates an opportunity for new leaders to step up and bring new energy to the party.


The BJP has decided to change things up for the upcoming elections in Karnataka. Instead of sticking with the same old MPs, they’re bringing in new faces. This move is all about making their chances of winning better. They’re focusing on having a diverse group of candidates, making smart alliances with other parties, and dealing with the problem of people being tired of the same old politicians. This shows that the BJP is willing to change and do what it takes to stay on top in politics.

In today’s ever-changing political scene, new leaders like Tejasvi Surya and Basavaraj Bommai are stepping up. They don’t just represent a shift in generations but also show that Karnataka’s leaders are looking ahead to meet the changing hopes of the people. As the Lok Sabha elections come closer, everyone is watching closely to see what moves the BJP makes and how it might affect the future of politics in Karnataka.


Q. Why are some well-known BJP MPs not running for re-election in Karnataka?

A. Some notable BJP MPs like Nalin Kumar Kateel and Pratap Simha are not contesting in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. This decision reflects a strategic shift within the BJP to introduce fresh faces and adapt to changing voter sentiments, rather than relying solely on established leaders.

Q . What significance does Yaduveer Krishnadatta Chamaraja Wadiyar’s candidacy hold in the Lok Sabha elections in Karnataka?

A. Yaduveer Krishnadatta Chamaraja Wadiyar, from the royal family of Mysuru, is entering the political arena for the first time to represent the Mysore constituency. His unexpected candidacy demonstrates the BJP’s willingness to embrace new candidates from diverse backgrounds to appeal to a wider voter base.

Q. How does the BJP’s nomination strategy address concerns of anti-incumbency and demographic shifts?

A. The BJP’s decision to nominate . a mix of incumbent MPs and fresh faces underscores its strategy to combat anti-incumbency sentiments and demographic changes. By replacing some incumbent MPs and fielding candidates from diverse backgrounds, the party aims to rejuvenate its appeal and address the evolving preferences of voters in Karnataka.

Leave a comment